The Academia Involvement in Community Cybersecurity Conference will take place from February 28th until March 1st, 2023.

Build awareness on how institutions of higher education can positively impact the cybersecurity of their communities.

Network with 200 niche members of government, academia and industries.

In Collaboration With:

Thanks to our collaboration with the National Science Foundation (NSF), there is no cost to register.


While much has been accomplished toward the nation’s cybersecurity efforts, one area still lacking significantly in cybersecurity preparedness are the states, local governments, tribes and territories. The nation needs a grassroots effort to build national cybersecurity from the ground up, and this will require a “champion” and catalyst in each community across the nation. The best place to look for these champions is in institutions of higher education (IHE) in partnership with local K-12 school districts.

The Academia Involvement in Community Cybersecurity Conference will examine how IHE’s can have a significant impact on the communities they reside in, and what they can do to inspire a Culture of Cybersecurity throughout the community. This includes all sectors – government, industry, critical infrastructures, academia, non-profit organizations, and the citizens. These entities make up the “soft underbelly” of the nation and have increasingly been the target of cyber attacks.

The goal of the conference is to make IHEs and school districts aware of how they can impact the nation’s cybersecurity posture and workforce. IHEs and school districts will be presenting ideas on how they can impact their communities and the resources available to them. The goal is to spread this across the nation through the NSA/DHS Centers of Academic Excellence (CAE) network, and that additional ideas and projects will be spawned from the conference that can be shared through the NCAE community to increase community cybersecurity.

Who Can Attend

Whether working in academia, industry, national, state or local government or simply interested in helping champion this effort within your community – you are invited to attend!

No Cost To Register
& Stipend Requests

Thanks to our collaboration with the National Science Foundation (NSF), there is no cost to register. They have also provided support so that we can offer $1,100 stipends to help defray the cost of travel and hotel expenses to some of the the following:

  • individuals coming from an Institution of Higher Education
  • teacher or administrator from a K-12 school

There are a limited number of these stipends, available on a first-come, first-served basis, so apply now.

Conference Location

The Academia Involvement in Community Cybersecurity Conference will be hosted in the brand new San Pedro 1 Building near The University of Texas at San Antonio’s downtown campus.

The address: 506 Dolorosa Street, San Antonio, TX 78204


Paid parking lots, paid garages and metered street parking are available around the San Pedro 1 Building. Click here to see a map of the of the conference location (identified on the map as UTSA SDS/NSCC). Or see other downtown UTSA parking options.

Nearby Hotels

While we do not endorse any hotels, the following hotels offer special UTSA Rates. See others nearby.

Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square (Yosie)

Book your corporate rate for UTSA by Feb 19

506 Dolorosa St, San Antonio, TX 78204 Distance – 3 minutes drive; 8 minute walk

Single King $119, Double Queen $129, with CODE: UTS

Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square (Diana Spears, Sales manager)

Book your corporate rate for UTSA

Distance – 4 minutes drive; 9 minute walk

More than 10 = $105.00 UTSA rate


Tuesday, February 28th

8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Single Track

  • White House Office of the National Cyber Director (ONCD)
  • Department of Homeland Security
  • National Security Collaboration Center
  • National Cybersecurity Preparedness Consortium
  • Angelo State University.

Wednesday, March 1st

8 a.m. – 1 p.m.

Track One: Colleges and Universities

  • The MITRE Corporation
  • UC-Berkeley
  • University of Nevada Las Vegas
  • The University of Texas at San Antonio
  • San Antonio North East Independent School District (NEISD)
  • ONCD

Track Two: K-12 Education

  • Louden County in Virginia
  • CIAS
  • CyberTexas and CyberPatriot
  • ONCD